Meet the participants in the Honesty Experiment for Figuring Out a Career

The Honesty Experiment for Figuring Out a Career is a 30-day self-improvement challenge. Volunteers get daily tips and questions to help them learn about themselves, explore their options, and take action. Sign up!

Stella

I’m here all week. We even serve lamb (Nairobi)

@sueteller

Why participate? “I want to know what the next step for me would be career-wise and, well, the whole thing sounds like fun.”

Candace

Writes about jobs and careers to help people find – and keep – the job they’ve always wanted (Jacksonville, FL)

@candacemoody

Candace Moody

Why participate? “In order to write about the experience for my blog and share nuggets of wisdom from the program.”

Rachel Blois

Recent uni grad working at a museum (Dunedin, New Zealand)

@missrblois

Why participate? “Just curious.”

Lisa

A thoughtful and creative twenty-something in search of fulfillment, love, a satisfying career, and happiness (Chicago)

@LWoods4

Lisa Woods

Why participate? “I am going through a transition in my life where I am taking on new responsibilities as a young adult and I am on a journey to figure out who I am, what I want, and how to get it…which requires a lot of honesty about my hopes, dreams, and fears! A career is a big part of the journey and I want to feel satisfied with my work, not just be stuck somewhere because it pays the bills. I want to be one of those people who enjoys what they do. I know it is possible!”

Claire

23, fresh out of Business School, and she thinks about food more than she thinks about romance (Singapore)

@iamsuperclaire

Claire

Why participate? “I’ve been unemployed for three months now with no real urge to make things happen, both career-wise and relationship-wise. People call this a “rut,” optimists call this “exploration,” and, well, I’ve stopped with the labels. I’m starting to think if I’m not heeding Robin Williams’ advice to “suck the marrow out of life” since I’m at this juncture where I am not obligated to anyone or institution. This ominous sign struck me when I paid a recent visit to my city’s “world-class aquarium” where I spent four hours thinking of what cooking techniques to use with regards to various sea creatures. My best friend said I’ve hit rock-bottom, but I’m really just passionate about food?

Deborah Resnick

A dissatisfied middle-aged woman who is searching for a meaning for her life (Indiana)

@debresnick

Why participate? “I want to get away from rationalizing and lying to myself, and learn more honest ways to live.”

Ed

An urban living professional making his way through the corporate gauntlet wondering if there is something more (Chicago)

@pfbulldog

Why participate? “I’m at a crossroads right now and want to figure out if I should keep pushing forward or take my career in a new direction.”

Amber

She has become defined by three words: introvert, wife, mother (San Antonio)

@aleighsb

Why participate? “I’ve been a stay-at-home mother so long that I not only don’t know how to do anything else, I don’t even know what else it is I’d like to do.”

Jill Koppang

59-year-old responsible adult seeking one more career that fills joy bucket! (Canada)

@Jkoppang1

Why participate? “I wonder what it would be like to reach my full potential…”

Jennifer Harris

Blessed woman of the most high God (Texas)

Why participate? “To truly break through to the best God has for me.”

Andrew

34, remarkably intelligent, and wholly unmotivated; a risk-averse adrenaline junkie who never quite figured out what he wanted to be when he grows up (Bay Area, CA)

Andrew B

Why participate? “I never figured out what I want to be when I grow up. I find myself doing something that is easy for me, but mostly unfulfilling – technical support. I’ve been in an inquiry for some time now on what I want to do as a chosen career. I haven’t put much effort into it lately; it comes in spurts; but I’m again at a fairly major crossroads – ending a relationship, moving, going to Burning Man for the first time, attempting to treat my ADD with inconsistent success, and coming to the realization that if I want to be successful, I have to do something that engages me and provides me freedom at the same time. And I still don’t know what that is.”

Jon F

New to my career in environmental engineering, recently relocated to a great spot, and looking to get more out of his job (USA)

Jon F

Why participate? “I am hoping this will help me ask the right questions and self-evaluate in order to get a better idea of what my long-term goals will be.”

Leave a comment